Honor

source

So I think that I need to hire my son out to take more pictures for me based on the views of the last post. Something that our family has been talking about a lot lately is honor. Our church has been doing a whole series on honor. It has been extremely convicting. I have been looking at my life seeing where it lacks honor and where I can show honor to those around me. It has been difficult because I know something about myself….I am a people pleaser. So it may appear that I show honor, but in my heart there is no such thing. As with all things, the heart is the core and what matters more than the outside appearance.

hon·or  

 /ˈɒnər/

                                                                                            noun

1.honesty, fairness, or integrity in one’s beliefs and actions: a man of honor.
2.a source of credit or distinction: to be an honor to one’s family.
3.high respect, as for worth, merit, or rank: to be held in honor.
4.such respect manifested: a memorial in honor of the dead.
5.high public esteem; fame; glory: He has earned his position of honor.

I am not going to lie, the place that has been most difficult lately is at my work. I don’t know what it is about teachers, but we can go very negative when the slightest problem arises. It is our stressful time of year due to our state testing which isn’t an excuse but a reality. I can’t tell you the responsibility I feel with my students and their testing scores. There is also the feeling of being responsible for where other teachers may have lacked and we are trying to make up for it. It can get a little tense. Our last staff meeting was very tense. In all honesty I wanted to walk out, but that is just me avoiding conflict. (another trait I am working on) So, have I been honorable in my discussions with fellow staff members. Probably not. Do I need to ask for forgiveness? Most likely. Is it easy? Definitely not. I work with great people who care deeply about their students and about the good of our school. My principal does the very best he can to make sure that his staff feel supported. Are we perfect? Heck no! We are human therefore we will hurt each other and let each other down. That is life.

These are some of my wonderful coworkers.

(Sorry guys…had to post it.:) )

 More than anything though I want to be a person that can accept my faults and then ask for forgiveness. I need to be able to step up the game and show some honor.

This entry was posted in God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

