Brokenness

source

Today I attended “Arms Wide Open” at our church. It was a special Women’s Ministry event. It highlighted many things that I have been learning these past few years. First and foremost that God works in our brokenness not our strength. I know that this seems counter intuitive, but it is truth. Here’s the rub. I don’t want to be broken. I want to be strong and independent. I want to be able to do it on my own. God wants me to be weak, solely dependent on Him. He wants me to be honest with myself and others. When I am, amazing things happen.

Ruth Graham, daughter of Billy Graham, spoke today and she said something I thought was profound. We become whole when we own our brokenness. For too long I chose to ignore the fact that I was broken. I was self-righteous (still can be). I was a good girl. I did everything I was supposed to, but inside I was bitter, resentful, and full of pride. The door to my wicked heart has been opened and often I repent of what I see because I have learned this fact. If I want to be whole, I must own my brokenness. If I want God to use me, I must talk about my brokenness. If I want to be strong, I must become weak.

SO HARD TO DO!!!!! I am learning. I am trying. I am thankful for God’s grace when I mess up regularly.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Brokenness

  1. roxannagrimes10 says:

    Just a fellow struggler smiling in brokenness.

Leave a Reply

