The Back Story

Before I can even begin with the last few months, I want to provide a little back story. Why you ask? Because…. it’s my blog and I want to. 🙂

From a very early age I was in love with people who talked differently than me and who did life differently than I did. I attribute it to my parents who always had my eyes open to the BIG world and not my small town world I was living in. Oh, I am sure I was a kid who was selfish at times and couldn’t see past my nose too.

As a young child I was in a program at church called Girls in Action. It was there that my love for people of other countries grew. I met people who lived in far off places to serve and love on others. I was able to learn about the missionaries from the past. Lottie Moon was one of my favorites. By first grade, I knew what my purpose in life was, to be a missionary. (This is a person who decided to give their life telling others about Jesus and the hope we have in him) Granted this was before I said my “prayer” of salvation, but most likely I was surrendered already.

Not a looker, but she loved the Chinese well and paid for it with her life.

Not a looker, but she loved the Chinese well and paid for it with her life.

 

By the age of 13, which seems really young I know, I felt that God was telling me to surrender to be in ministry full time when I was a grown up. Again, the thought in my head was I was going to be in a different country ministering to people who spoke a different language.

In high school, I began to learn Spanish. I have always loved language and decided I needed to get better at one if I was to spend my life elsewhere. I took Spanish 1 through 4 and loved it.  It was a challenge for sure, but there was a purpose behind it. I also continued to be involved in mission minded groups.  (to be continued)

My crew as we walk toward the airport. #1 and I went to East Africa to serve the people who live there.

My crew as we walk toward the airport. #1 and I went to East Africa to serve the people who live there.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Back Story

  1. Kimberlee says:

    That was a tease!!! Please write more soon 🙂

  2. M.Almeida says:

    Cliff hanger! You can’t just stop there, you just made us want to “turn the page”…

Leave a Reply

