Now What

Well, the story is done or at least you are caught up to date. What do I have now to write about? I guess I will let you in to what has been stirring in my heart for a month or so.

With a family of 6, things in our house can get cluttered and crazy real quick. Last January of 2012 (I can’t believe it was that long ago. I could have sworn it was last year) we invited our friends over and had a radical simplification weekend. We purged like crazy. It was hard and freeing all at the same time. I got rid of 4 black trash bags of boys’ clothes. We downsized furniture and made space. This is not the be replaced with things, but to leave the empty space.

Future bob sledders? Or just creative boys? (I claim the middle one, although the other two are pretty special to me as well.

Future bob sledders? Or just creative boys? (I claim the middle one, although the other two are pretty special to me as well.

Oh how quickly things pile up again. We do have an ongoing “get rid of pile”. Shirts that I just don’t wear or have grown too small, pants that have holes in them, toys that we have outgrown or just don’t play with. BUT even still it seems like the battle to stay simple is a losing battle.

Let's just say, windy days are no good for curly hair.

Let’s just say, windy days are no good for curly hair.

I have begun reading the book Seven by Jen Hatemaker. It is an experiment that Jen decided to take on by simplifying her life for 7 months in 7 different areas. It has challenged me to continue the battle, but perhaps tweak it a little. For example, I have the give away pile, but what if I gave it to people instead of Goodwill, what if I gave not out of my excess but out of their need. Do I have any intentional relationships with the least of these? Not to make myself be feel better, but rather to live out what Jesus said.

My life is full of baseball at the moment. Here is #3 ready for a pitch.

My life is full of baseball at the moment. Here is #3 ready for a pitch.

I am not done with the book, but need to finish soon. I am borrowing the book to save money and to save space. I will let you know if and when I take on my own experiment to fight the battle in a more extreme way.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

